Site news

SUNSHS Voting Results

Picture of Greg Burr
SUNSHS Voting Results
by Greg Burr - Tuesday, February 9, 2016, 1:56 PM

Congratulations to the New Student Union of Nevada State High School Executive Board for 2016-2017!

·         Farrah Hayden – President
·         Sarah Guinn – Vice President
·         Wayne Boulton Jr. – Treasurer
·         Melissa Nicely – Secretary

As special thanks to the outgoing Executive Board later this semester as they graduate on to bigger and brighter things!

On a small note and teachable moment:  Having NSHS students look ignorant is a pet peeve. So when students write ridiculous things on ballots like “anarchy” and claim that having no competition is undemocratic, they need to go back to PCS 101.  A democracy takes participation and those who wrote in fictitious names and inaccurate portrayals of the voting process have NEVER attended a student government meeting!  You have a right to voice your opinion, but you lose credibly when you do nothing!  With that being said, thank you to those who work hard to create opportunities for the students at NSHS even if a few do not appreciate what you sacrifice for the whole.